Arabic Language

The Arabic language (اللغة العربية) belongs to the Semitic branch of the Afro-Asiatic language family. Other languages that belong to this branch are Aramaic (spoken in small villages in Syria and Iraq) and Hebrew (spoken in Israel).Arabic Language
There are over 300 million native speakers, primarily living in the Middle East and North Africa. Arabic is one of the six official languages of the United Nations since 1973.
It is also the language of the Qur’an (القرآن), Islam’s holy book, and as such the liturgical language of over 1.5 billion Muslims.

Modern Standard Arabic is derived from Classical or Qur’anic Arabic. It is the lingua franca of the Arab world and is used in modern Arabic literature, media (newspapers, radio, television), education.

The spoken dialects are the varieties of the Arabic language the native speakers learn as their mother tongue. (e.g. Moroccan Arabic, Egyptian Arabic, Sudanese Arabic)

Countries with Arabic as an official Language

A list of countries where Arabic is (one of) the official language(s). The countries are primarily located in the Middle East and North Africa.