Arabic Alphabet

Arabic Alphabet – الأبجدية العربية

The Arabic alphabet consists of 28 letters. Arabic is written from right to left. Usually only consonants and long vowels are written.
In the Arabic script all letters are joined, except for six letters that are not connected to the next letter: ’alif ( ا ), dāl ( د ), ḏāl ( ذ ) , rā’ ( ر ) , zāy ( ز ) , wāw ( و ).
Letters have different forms depending on their position, at the beginning, middle or end of a word. There are no capital letters in the Arabic script.

خ ح ج ث ت ب ا
ḵā’ ḥā’ jīm ṯā’ tā’ bā’ ’alif
ص ش س ز ر ذ د
ṣād šīn sīn zāy rā’ ḏāl dāl
ق ف غ ع ظ ط ض
qāf fā’ ḡayn ‘ayn ẓā’ ṭā’ ḍād
ي و ه ن م ل ك
yā’ wāw hā’ nūn mīm lām kāf

Arabic Letter Forms

Learn the different forms of the Arabic letters. Depending on their position, letters have different forms at the beginning, middle or end of a word.

name final medial initial isolated
’alif ألف ـا ـا ا ا
bā’ باء ـب ـبـ بـ ب
tā’ تاء ـت ـتـ تـ ت
ṯā’ ثاء ـث ـثـ ثـ ث
jīm جيم ـج ـجـ جـ ج
ḥā’ حاء ـح ـحـ حـ ح
ḵā’ خاء ـخ ـخـ خـ خ
dāl دال ـد ـد د د
ḏāl ذال ـذ ـذ ذ ذ
rā’ راء ـر ـر ر ر
zāy زاي ـز ـز ز ز
sīn سين ـس ـسـ سـ س
šīn شين ـش ـشـ شـ ش
ṣād صاد ـص ـصـ صـ ص
ḍād ضاد ـض ـضـ ضـ ض
ṭā’ طاء ـط ـطـ طـ ط
ẓā’ ظاء ـظ ـظـ ظـ ظ
‘ayn عين ـع ـعـ عـ ع
ḡayn غين ـغ ـغـ غـ غ
fā’ فاء ـف ـفـ فـ ف
qāf قاف ـق ـقـ قـ ق
kāf كاف ـك ـكـ كـ ك
lām لام ـل ـلـ لـ ل
mīm ميم ـم ـمـ مـ م
nūn نون ـن ـنـ نـ ن
hā’ هاء ـه ـهـ هـ ه
wāw واو ـو ـو و و
yā’ ياء ـي ـيـ يـ ي